Afghanistan in Australia for the T20 World Cup

Ambassador Waissi with Afghan Cricket Team Players||

The 2022 ICC Men's T20 World Cup was the eighth ICC Men's T20 World Cup tournament. It was played in Australia from 16 October to 13 November 2022. Although originally scheduled to be held in 2020, in July 2020, the International Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed that the tournament had been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. In August 2020, the ICC confirmed that Australia would host the rearranged tournament in 2022, while the T20 World Cup would take place in India in 2021 as originally planned, but that was later moved to the United Arab Emirates and Oman. On 21 January 2022, the ICC confirmed all the fixtures for the tournament. Hosts Australia were also the defending champions.

The twelve teams that reached the Super 12 phase of the 2021 ICC Men's T20 World Cup automatically qualified for the 2022 tournament. Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and South Africa all qualified directly for the Super 12 phase of this tournament, based on their performances in the 2021 tournament and their rankings as of 15 November 2021. Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka and the West Indies were all placed in the group stage of the competition.

The Afghanistan squad for T20 World cup 2022 has a 15 member team which includes: Mohammad Nabi (c), Najibullah Zadran (vc), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq, Qais Ahmad, Rashid Khan, Salim Safi and Usman Ghani.

The first match was with England in Perth stadium. Afghanistan's Ambassador to Australia, His Excellency Wahidullah Waissi, was in Perth to welcome the players on October 22. The second match with New Zealand on October 26 and the third match with Ireland on October 28 were abandaned due to weather condition. The Embassy of Afghansitan also hosted a reception for all Afghan squad and thier coaches in Melbourne on October 27. 


Last modified on Thursday, 01/12/2022

Go to Top